Self Employment

Get expert opinion. This is the place for new questions to be posted.
8 posts Page 1 of 1

angelrainbow

Post by angelrainbow » Thu Sep 04, 2008 1:38 pm
Hi all. I am in an IVA,which is linked to my partner's. He is the only wage earner and I simply get child benefit and tax credits.

I am a qualified holistic therapist and have been toying with the idea of actually charging now, rather than simply offering treatments and teahcing for free to people I know.

So...if i did do this, obviously I would have to register with the lovely tax people, get insurance all the good stuff like that. But what would I need to do re IVA?

I can't guarantee I would make much at all..I could go a month or so maybe without a teaching job (where the money is!) or having clients in for a treatment. I have two small children so anything I did do would be part time and around them..so not many hours at all.

It all sounds as if it might be very complicated and confusing to sort out to me...what do the experts think?
Completion Certificate received September 2012.

Adam Davies

Post by Adam Davies » Thu Sep 04, 2008 1:45 pm
Hi
Go for it,as long as it's low risk[and it does sound it].
If you earn any extra then part of it will have to go into the IVA "pot" but you could use the IVA years to establish your business so that once your IVA is finished you will enjoy the full fruits of your labour.
Have a chat with your IP and see what percentage of your earnings they would expect.
They may say all,less expenses,but there would be no incentive for you so that would be crazy.

Regards
Andam Davies

angelrainbow

Post by angelrainbow » Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:02 pm
Thanks Andy..It is low risk, I am fully trained, have the massage bed already, and everything I need apart from consumable stuff! I even have people willing and offering to pay, but I have been putting them off as I don't want to get into trouble!

Will chat it over with the IP and see what they have to say.