My Debt Hell!

15 posts Page 1 of 1

buttercup

Post by buttercup » Wed Feb 13, 2008 3:03 pm
Well here it goes I have had top pluck up courage to write this .
I have been following the forum for a bit & I have to say a big thank you to Debbie who after reading her advice to another member about telling her husband encouraged me to do the same.
I am only telling my story in-case there are any others out there who were in my situation. I have carried this now for 2 years & it has at times been unbearable.

I am ashamed as unlike others knew exactly where all my debt has come from unfortunately. It all started a long time ago when I started trading the stock market. Obviously firstly I started small but got bigger as time went on and had my first real shock whilst trading oil. Wham a huge loss I could not sleep for the feeling of sheer sickness but of course my trusty old credit cards were there to plunge some more money into my trading account so I could wait for the trade to come back to me. Of course they never do. This went on until I had to take a 2nd mortgage out. But it did not quite cover all my losses so I carried on just to try to re-coup a few grand. That was January 2007 a year later & I have debts again on credit cards of 100K and loans of approx 40K.

I am so racked with guilt it is making me ill! My hubby has been supportive but that almost makes the guilt worse. The kids all just adults are appalled at what I have done but to them it is only money after all they say, they do not really understand the seriousness of it. Thank God. They still say what the heck we still love you even if we do think you have gone mad. My hubby is still in disbelief & shock!