If we default will this effect our chances of iva

24 posts Page 1 of 2

ken.b

Post by ken.b » Thu Apr 19, 2007 7:06 pm
I am a homeowner with about 50k left in the value of the house. I am up to 76k on CC's and have been useing them to pay off the monthloy bills. I earn 35 k, my wife does not work. We are about to try the IVA route. My Question: Should we pay the monthly bills now as we have been via the remaining balnaces before we try IVA or do we default now? If we default will this effect our chances of getting an IVA?

steve_

Post by steve_ » Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:33 am
Hi Ken
I am no expert at this but from my experience you have to default on paying things otherwise it looks like you can afford to pay, the whole point of an IVA is for people like you and me who cant afford to pay!
So in a nutshell to get an IVA you have to be insolvent If your paying your bills your not insolvent... Hope that makes sense.
Like you I was living off credit cards but it cant go on forever so you have to bite the bullet,I defaulted on my payments just after I had passed on my info to my IP , thereafter everything was done within about 8 weeks by wich time we had recieved a few reminders but not much hassle at all.
Hope this helps and maybee some of the pros on the forum can offer better advise.
Rgds
Steve

scaredkez

Post by scaredkez » Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:12 am
you do not have to default on your credit cards etc to be insolvent, most of us here have been able to pay to the last but what we are doing is using credit to pay for our daily living, to work out if you are insolvent work out what you pay out each month with out including your unsecured creditors.
if your outgoings is more than your incomings then you are probably insolvent, work out properly what your income and expenditure is with our your insecured debt then tell us what you owe and what you can afford and then we may be able to help you in what road to take
kerri